Local News: Chamber names Award recipients at banquet (3/5/22)

The theme for the 2022 Chamber Awards Banquet was “Stayin ‘Alive” and attendees were encouraged to dress in their 70s best and participate in a costume contest for a chance to win a Chamber gift certificate. Mike Gervais/mgnews@monett-times.com

Business of the Year, Pride and Progress and Community Service awarded

A who’s who of Monett community leaders gathered at the City Park Casino Thursday evening to recognize some of the most active and most successful residents during the Monett Chamber of Commerce Annual Banquet.

Among a costume contest, cocktail and a dinner catered by Angus Branch, the Chamber of Commerce named its Business of the Year award recipient as well as the prestigious Pride and Progress award winner and the coveted Community Service awardee.

Incoming Chamber of Commerce board members include, from left, Kelli Moreland, Marry Dutton, Brett Heman, Elsa Porras and Jack Williams. Mike Gervais/mgnews@monett-times.com

This year’s Business of the Year award was presented by Scott Thrasher to Alyssa Vaughn and her Flying V Mercantile located at 812 W Hwy. 60 in Monett.

The Flying V opened in 2016 in Monett and stayed busy through the pandemic, offering online shopping opportunities for both locals and others across the country.

Flying V boasts more than 1,500 square feet of retail space and offers everything from furniture and home decor to clothing and accessories.

Stephanie Schumacher welcomed attendees at the Monett Chamber of Commerce annual banquet with the National Anthem. Mike Gervais/mgnews@monett-times.com

Next on the list of award recipients was Darrin Newbold, recipient of the Pride and Progress award.

The Pride and Progress Award is presented to persons or organizations who make a notable contribution to the community. Special consideration is given for efforts contributing to community pride and progress.

Newbold, the president of Freedom Bank of Aurora and Monett, is a 1978 graduate of Aurora High School. He moved to Monett in the 1980s and has helped start and build several banks in the community. In 2002, he co-founded Community National Bank and has served on countless local boards, including the Monett Chamber Board, Children’s Smile Center, the Monett YMCA and the Monett Industrial Development Corporation.

And finally, the coveted Community Service Award, which is given as a lifetime achievement award for local residents who have worked tirelessly to better the Monett Community, was posthumously awarded to Jerry Dierker and received by his children, Kristen Leathers-Gratton and Brett Dierker.

Born in Granby in 1942, Dierker served 24 years in the National Guard and more than 20 years as a Monett City Commissioner.

Both in that role as a civic leader and as the owner of a local construction company, was instrumental in many local infrastructure projects, ranging from bridges to homes, trails and streets.

Dierker is also credited as a founding member of the Monett Main Street Board and the Monett Industrial Development Corporation.

For more information on the three award recipients, see next week’s edition of The Monett Times.

In addition to the three awards outgoing Monett Chamber of Commerce President Anita Prow and incoming president Kellie Moreland addressed attendees to discuss the past year’s accomplishments and the coming year’s aspirations.

Prow and Chamber Director Jeff Meredith announced the launch of Monett’s Explore Monett app, available on iTunes or the Google Play Store. The app is a hub for local services, restaurants, hotels, activities and events. Local Chamber members will soon be receiving invitations and instructions regarding how to get their businesses and services represented on the app.

New Chamber Board members Mary Dutton of re / Max Properties, Brett Heman of Morgan Stanley, Elsa Porras of A-List Properties and Jack Williams of Wintech were also introduced, as well as alternates Sara Weber of Weber Law Office and Kim O’Neil of SRC Automotive.

Leave a Reply 0

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *